The side projects flow: why you need it

Domenico Gagliardi
5 min readMay 10, 2024

I love side projects, and I’ve been working in this field for 2 years.

I’ve managed multiple products, and I’ve always tried to understand the best flow to follow to reach an efficient result. News?

There is not an efficient flow, BUT there is an interesting process you can follow to minimize risks and costs.

Today, I’m going to write about it here, and hopefully, it could help you to better understand how to manage your side projects while having a full-time job. Let’s start!

Full-Time Job and Side Projects

I’ve always worked for companies, while I managed products in parallel. I think I’ve been always good at managing my time, and my priorities. Otherwise, I could not managed 13 products in 2 years. Isn’t it?

I want to start with this question: how do I manage side projects with a 9–5 job?

Before going on, I’d like to say that this is only based on my experience. It could be different from person to person, and these are only pieces of advice.

1. Time Management

One of the most important things to manage for launching your side project is your time. Every person on this Earth has 24 hours. Nobody has more than this number.

It seems like a small number of hours, but with the right management of these hours, you can do a lot.

--

--

Domenico Gagliardi

SaaS Entrepreneur | Business Analyst | 6x Micro Exit | Building Products for fun: https://iworkedon.com/@dg